AustralasiaEnvironment and Climate ChangeFeaturesLaw & OrderNatureProtestSocietyWorld

When it is necessary to break the law

As a firm believer in the rule of law, stepping outside its constraints to make a point when I don’t agree with it does not come naturally to me.

Public protest is often associated with noise and spectacle, but for me and probably most participants it’s a deeply personal matter. My own experience may be informative.

In 1970 I broke a cardinal rule of journalism – never take sides – and joined a street march against the Vietnam war. A sympathetic boss let my transgression pass, but I didn’t like feeling exposed in a public place, and when Lake Pedder and the Franklin River were being threatened by hydro development I was nowhere to be seen.

Then in late 2000 I was a manager in the Australian public service when John Howard’s government moved to privatise parts of government, potentially taking in scientific functions of the CSIRO and other agencies, including my own. I had strong feelings about this and alerted colleagues to a CSIRO staff protest on the Hobart waterfront.

This time I had an unsympathetic boss. No doubt feeling pressure from above, he referred my action to the government solicitor who found that while I technically breached regulations it was more akin to whistleblowing than insubordination. But my dissent was noted. My job was reclassified and I was made redundant.

That legal sanction was deeply unsettling for me. It did set me free to join protests against the Iraq war and climate inaction, but whenever that happened I always felt exposed and uncomfortable.

But my discomfort was small compared to what other protesters face. Breaking the law in someone else’s workplace – say an aquaculture site, a mining lease or a logging operation – where obstructed workers can get angry, carries real physical danger.