Arts & CultureBooksCultureCultureEuropeLiterature

Booker Prize won by South African writer Damon Galgut for The Promise

South African novelist and playwright Damon Galgut has won the Booker Prize for his novel The Promise, a multi-generational, multi-voice saga set in Pretoria, that starts in 1986 with a promise made by a white South African family to their black housekeeper — and follows the fallout of this moment across 40 years.

The 57-year-old, who has been shortlisted twice previously, won the 50,000-pound ($91,783) prize against a shortlist that included Pulitzer Prize winner Richard Powers (Bewilderment; The Overstory), and which was notably young — with four of the six authors 40 years old or younger.

  • Dee Jefferson
  • ABC News

Chair of the judging panel Maya Jasanoff described The Promise as “a book that is a real master of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button