AgreementAnalysisAsiaCyprus IssueDemocracyDiplomacyEuropeFeaturesGlobal IssuesHistoricalMiddle EastMulticulturalismOpinionPoliticsSecuritySocietyU.N.World

Britain’s Constitutional Responsibilities to the Republic of Cyprus: Past, Present and Future

Thank you for your kind invitation to this inaugural seminar, I am honoured to have been invited to such an important event in relation to the Constitutional role of Britain according to the Constitution of The Republic of Cyprus.

When I entered politics 2 years ago I promised myself that I will always speak the truth and my mind and adhere to my principles even at the expense of political cost, because I was never font of professional politicians who would say anything to their people as long as they secure their votes at the ballot boxes.

Cy logo & flag on EU globe 1aLet me tell you from the outset, that I don’t have legal background as I am an economist by profession, so my speech is based on my personal views insofar as the subject of tonight’s seminar.

I did not live or experienced the tragic events of Cyprus of 1974 due to the age factor although I come from a family of refugees from Famagusta, but fortunately there are a lot of well documented sources for the younger generations to research for the Cyprus history and the involvement of foreign powers in its affairs. One of those powers surely was Great Britain who has a long foothold in Cyprus under different legal pretexts since 1878 until today.